The Oscar’s 2016: The Force Awakens Nominated for FIVE Awards

The nominations for the 2016 Academy Awards has been announced and Star Wars: The Force Awakens has been nominated for FIVE!

Even though it seems that the Oscars have been dominated this year by Mad Max: Fury Road and The Revenant, The Force Awakens has been nominated for a respectable amount. The nominations are as follows,

OSCAR Nominations 2016:

Best Film Editing
Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey

Best Original Score
John Williams

Best Visual Effects
Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Chris Corbould

Best Sound Editing
Matthew Wood and David Acord

Best Sound Mixing
Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson

Glaringly clears are the “SNUBS” in the categories of Best Picture and Best Director will make fans of The Force Awakens feel cheated. With the age of Star Wars back on the radars of the film industry and the many new films to come, I foresee a greater increase in recognition from the Oscar judges. Of course, the greatest recognition has been proven from the millions of dedicated Star Wars fans…and that is all that matters in the end.

“May the OSCARS be with you, The Force Awakens!”

See the 88th Academy Awards LIVE on February 28th.

About Wookiee Steve 706 Articles
From the moment Steve first watched Star Wars: A New Hope in the theater when he was a child, he wanted to be Luke Skywalker when he “grew up” (and STILL does!). He now shares this passion with his wife, two daughters, friends and fans. Steve is the Founder of Star Wars Reporter.